Rohan is the Best Villain Yet?! JoJo’s DU Ep 14

I need a moment for life updated here:

Well, not surprisingly, my plans to finish the season strong have died out. As it turns out, I have essentially zero time for anime in my daily life. In fact, JoJo’s is the only anime I watch consistently. I am going to make a blog about the endings of Mayoiga, Kiznaiver, and Kabaneri, but the weekly blogs have lost their significance.  In accordance with my lack of time, my reports on the summer season may look a bit different, although I am not quite sure what is changing. 

Anyways, this week in JoJo we got a wonderful introduction to Rohan, the crazy manga artist.


Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 11.11.19 AM.png

I would like to devote the entirety of this week to Rohan, who is one of the best JoJo villains we have had in a while. This time let’s look at what makes his character great as a villain, and what his signifies. 

First, I want to get out there that Rohan is one of my favorite villains since Battle Tendency, and not only because he is totally overpowered. Unlike some other villains who prove themselves to be quite intelligent, Rohan uses not only his intelligence, but also a healthy serving of common sense. Some villains, such as Chili Pepper, want to be found, but Rohan is different. He is very discrete and secretive, as shown by the hefty window coverings and his quiet attitude. Unlike many other bad guys, Rohan is also quite earnest and possesses very protagonist-like values. For example, he doesn’t dupe or attack Koichi and Hazamada until they intrude on his work and open up the manuscript. Though Rohan is not forgiving, he does not attack without reason.  

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 11.15.27 AM.png

You can also find Rohan’s earnest nature in his attitude towards his manga. Unlike others, Rohan values the readers entertainment over money or fame. So despite Rohan’s claims of disliking people, he is actually a people pleaser. Rohan’s kind sentiments towards people seem limited to those who he has deemed worthy. For example, Rohan rejects Hazamada as a subject because he is an unlikable person (cheater, perverted, liar). I would go so far as to guess that at some point in his life, Rohan had his feeling betrayed by others, which caused him to develop a personality that was more tolerant towards being ignored or not accepted. 

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 11.21.35 AM.png
See, Rohan is actually really happy about finding others like him. 

Rohan’s stand is also quite interesting. Heaven’s Door is said to be one of the most OP stands in the entire series (other than the JoJo stands), and I see why. Heaven’s Door essentially gives Rohan the power to rewrite a person’s life, or even decide another’s life for himself. In the hands of someone truly evil like Dio, this power would seem much heavier, however, given how earnest Rohan is, it does not seem as bad. Now, I believe that Rohan is actually a pretty good guy, despite his creepy vibe at times. His inherit goodness makes Rohan a more interesting villain, especially when compared to the JoJo crowd of antagonists, many of which are clearly bad like Hazamada.


I hope you enjoyed my blog this time around and my spring taste testing blogs are on the way 🙂 Happy Anime Hunting!   

Author: delaneysloane

My name is Delaney and I am a student blogger from from Santa Clara University in California.

Leave a Reply

