Life Updates Galore + Storytime + I Challenge YOU!

Hello and welcome to my ever so busy life.

As (I assume) a few of you have noticed, I have been missing my weekly anime updates for about a week or two now. I assure anyone concerned that I am perfectly fine, unlike my previous life update. 

For those of you who do not know, I am a senior in high school, or at least until Friday I am. This week contains my final finals of my high school career. Of course I will have plenty to look forward to in college, this is still a bit of an achievement. Being as studious and pressured as I am, studying for these finals (even though I have confirmed acceptance to college) is a must.  

Sadly, that means that my blogs, which I have taken an increasing amount of pride in, are being put on hold. After my finals, I have a series of nighttime events, (senior dinner, grad night, etc.) and some daytime events (senior cry day aka remembering out seniors, graduation, yay!). This summer I will also be working as a lifeguard and a timer at swim meets (there is a huge swim culture in my area).  

All in all, blogs should start up again on Sunday or Monday.


I also want to take a moment while I am here to talk about something a little more personal (and not anime related). 

All my life I have been pretty good at science and have been told to pursue engineering. Up until about 2 months ago, I followed along with this notion, and even intended to major in environmental science and/or bio engineering. I had always treated my fascination with photography and storytelling as a pastime or hobby. That is, until I started visiting college campuses to make my decision. I was immediately drawn to the equipment, scenes, stories, and even the people who were in the film departments. Though it came pretty late, I had finally figured out what I truly wanted to do in life: tell stories and make movies. 

haikyuu kageyama disguise.png
future me making movies in “hollywood”

And so I figured “Why not start now?” hence, my summer project. This summer I am making at least one, probably two, and possible three films. We aren’t talking feature length here, maybe 15 to 20 minutes max. 

My first (confirmed project) is a “spirit video” for the swim club I lifeguard for. The video is meant to pump up the members of the swim team before the final swim meet of the season. My family has sat through years of failed movies that are essentially poorly made slideshows set to terrible music. My sister and I plan to revamp the team’s spirit. 

The second idea is tied to the first, in that it is about swimming. Where I live, there is a massive pressure on young kids to do swimming, and almost every kid has swam for at least one season. From the age of 4, kids are thrown into the water and taught to swim laps. Most of the kids (or at least the ones I have talked to) think it is pretty weird when someone has no clue how to swim. This would be documentary-style and aim to analyze the culture along with it’s pros and cons. 

The third project would be much shorted, and inspired by something that I am currently writing. In a previous post, I talked about writing your own book, and the book idea of SHINBOU appealed. The third project would be a little excerpt of a scene or two. The problem here would be with finding actors, as I really don’t know anyone who looks like my intended characters and would be willing to do this for free. I’ve just set up a gofundme page if anyone would be so kind as to donate to my cause. 

maxresdefault
low-key this is my female lead

One last thing, I challenge you to reveal me.  Something about the mystery about the writer is kind of fun, but at the same time you can understand someone better if you can watch them. I figured it would be kind of fun to introduce myself (formally that is) over film.

Here is the challenge (which I suppose is more on myself than the readers): if this blog gets 100 followers before the end of summer (late August) , I will show my face, accent, favorite things, etc. Keep in mind, the whole point to to have some fun, and the more the merrier! 


 

Well, that is all I have to say, and I hope you have a fabulous week! Happy anime hunting! 

Author: delaneysloane

My name is Delaney and I am a student blogger from from Santa Clara University in California.

7 thoughts on “Life Updates Galore + Storytime + I Challenge YOU!”

  1. Ay, high school senior here too. I think it’s pretty cool that you’re considering to pursue film! Let me know if you ever need music composed for your filming projects (I’ve been trying to compose some songs lately).

    Like

    1. Actually that would be really cool/fantastic! I’ve been told sound editing/composition is a huge Hollywood movie job industry if you are pursuing that!
      If you are willing I would love to feature some of your music. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah np. I will warn that I’m not a music professional, so it might not uh, be that great. But here’s a link to the first (and also very short) composition I made: https://youtu.be/NJOn9lzOG1g. What I was thinking is if you wanted to tell me what type of mood / tone you’re looking for, I could compose something based off of that criteria. Or alternatively I could look at the film and then compose music based off of the scenes. (if that makes any sense at all lol)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember my graduation. Well, technically I was trying to make sure no-one drank too much or endangered anyone’s life… But enough about that! It’s a very courageous move of you to follow a career that many people find very daunting, myself included, and I wish you all the best in your future endeavours. I’m studying in Japan at the moment and have my finals in a month, so it looks like we’re both completing major mile stones (school and a major) soon. What an exciting time to be alive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

