WINTER 2016 | Week 3 Roundup

Hey guys! Sloaner here with some of my thoughts on the Winter 2016 season! I have rounded up all the episodes from this week (organized by day they aired). This week I dropped a couple of series, so they won’t appear again until the end of the season review 🙂


Top 5 Most Improved from Last Week 

5 | Ajin

4 | Assassination Classroom

3 | Osomatsu-san

2 | Active Raid

1 | Erased


Top 5 Biggest Fails of the week 

5 | Prince of Stride

4 | Divine Gate 

3 | HaruChika

2 | Saijaku Muhai no Bahamut 

1 | Norn9


Top 5 Male Characters of the week 

5 | Moguzo | Grimgar

4 | Prince Raji | Shiraiyuki-hime

3 | Satoru Fujinuma | Erased

2 | Itona Horibe | Assassination Classroom

1 | Ichimatsu Matsuno | Osomatsu-san


Top 5 Female Characters of the week 

5 | Yume | Grimgar

4 | Kasane Kujiragi | Durarara

3 | Aqua | Konosuba

2 | Mai Kawakami | Phantom World

1 | Mira Yurizaki | Dimension W


Top 5 Anime Recommendations of the week 

5 | Assassination Classroom

4 | Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu

3 | Ajin

2 | Erased

1 | Osomatsu-san



Below, you will find my notes on each of the series this week. My notes are just little things about the series that I keep track of. Any good notes, or problems will be noted below. The information will be marked [G] for good/improved, [N] for neutral/no change, or [B] for bad/got worse. If they are mixed like [B/N] or [G/N], that means they are a mix, or I am unsure. 


TUESDAY

Prince of Stride (ep 3) [B] Mmmm. The shogi guy ruined it for everyone. Yeah, that’s about the only thing that happened. Everyone is drowning is troupes right now, and there was no character development. 


WEDNSDAY

HaruChika (ep 3)[B] Another episode of Haruta the kid detective. At least last time they focused on the main girl, but Marem fell completely to the wayside. My first impressions have been smashed. 

Musaigen no Phantom World (ep 3)[N/G] Nice new look at Mayonnaise-senpai. Haruhiko is getting less useless. I like the dynamic between Mai and him. At the same time something about this show really bugs me. 

Tantei Team KZ (ep 15)[N/G] We are reaching the climax in the story arch, which is a good thing. Sunahara’s character isn’t well rounded and KZ is being a little meh, but Aya grows on me still. 

Konosuba (ep 2)[G] Ah I love Kazuma and Aqua. The magic girl is a bit annoying, but she is growing on me. This anime makes me laugh, despite how bad it is. It should have the parody tag on it. 


THURSDAY

Erased (ep 3)[G] Beautiful episode. This series is really just slaying the competition. It continues to do everything right, and is even starting to gain it’s own charm (like Rakugo). Easily one of the best this season. 

Norn9 (ep 3)[B] Just soooo boring. The hooks end in the first minute of the next episode. It is way overdramatic. The characters are toast. This show is not worth my time. [DROPPED]

Active Raid (ep 3)[G] This is progressing nicely. At the root of this show there is something growing, and surrounding it is increasingly likable nonsense. The characters have grown on me a ton. 

Assassination Classroom 2nd Season (ep 3)[G] Itona joins the Assassination Classroom! I like his story and I love that he is in Terasaka’s group. Plus, he is adorable. This season is staring to heat up! 

Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu (ep 3)[B/N] Ah Bunta did the Itami “sheesh” from osomatsu-san!!!! I actually like some of the development, but the characters are not memorable or very interesting.

Dagashi Kashi (ep 3)[B/N] It’s not bad per say, I just don’t think it is very funny. Since humor is the whole point of the anime, it kind of fails. Like nothing very funny really ever happens. 


FRIDAY

GATE 2nd Season (ep 3)[G/N] Lots of good moments: the dive into Itami’s past, Tuka going mad, Piña and the oldest brother. I was right about the bunny girl being important and she really creeps me out. 

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu (ep 3)[G] This show continues to blow me away. I never noticed how beautiful the opening is! Bon gets some great development this episode and it was touching. 

Heavy Object (ep 15) [N] The enemy objects comes into contact and they clash. Solid episode. I am really confused about what happened at the end though, like who is she supposed to be?

Divine Gate (ep 3)[B] We looking into Midori, who is an annoying bitch who ditched her best friend. Aota also has a secret (no duh). This show is way too melodramatic. The op and nothing else is growing on me.

Galko-chan (ep 3)[N/G] Nice episode. I like their relationship. Also love gal and the tiny girl, they are pretty funny together. I actually like the Otaku boy and the baseball (tall) guy from their class. 

Sekkou Boys (ep 3) [N] Man this show is ridiculous. Nice episode, although Medici is probably my least favorite. When I hear Mars all I can think of is Jushimatsu (Daisuki Ono).

Ajin (ep 2) [G] Lots of development of the abilities of the Ajin. We also get a ton of suggestions about the black ghosts and what they are/who has them. Great episode to build the foundation.  


SATURDAY

Durarara!!x2 Ketsu (ep 3)[N] We established a new relationship between the (now 3) know Saika in Ikebukuro. Interesting analysis by Izaya during his conversation with Mikado. It’s heating up! 

Haikyuu!! 2nd Season (ep 16)[G] DAICHI! Looks like this is where Ennoshita comes in and is the ultimate bae! I can see his being the next capital for sure. Also I like this new other team as well (not as great as Bokuto though). 

Luck & Logic (ep 3)[N/G] Nice development and good hook at the end there. This anime is progressing nicely and need week looks promising. I feel so bad for Olga: he is a useless troll at the moment. 

Utawarerumono (ep 16)[B/N] The whole deal with Haku was almost there, but it ended up being to dramatic, which ruined it. Lots of dick jokes too. Also, where is the much better original cast?! I WANT THEM. 


SUNDAY

Dimension W (ep 3)[N] I feel like this show lacks something, but I can’t quite put my finger on it yet. Nice episode for Mira and her home life. Something seems like it is brewing with NT Energy. 

Schwarzesmaksen (ep 3)[B/N] That was probably the best episode yet, but I still hated it. This series isn’t for me. They killed off Kurt, the only likable character, and the drama is too much. [DROPPED]

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar (ep 3)[G] Haru and Manato have such nice moments. Also got more development with Ranta and the girls. Moguzo also got some time, and I really like him. This series has my love. 

Nijiiro Days (ep 3) [G] This series is so cute and I actually love it a lot. I’ll admit it is not very good, but it is a really cute/nice watch. Also I lied last week: 24 episode extension, not 26.

Ooya-san (ep 3)[N/B] This show is successfully being incredibly creepy. I really don’t even know how to react. 


MONDAY

Ace of the Diamond 2nd Season (ep 42) – [G] Shiraisu is darling and I’m glad Mei showed up. Nice demon-like portrayal of Raichi. I also love that Nori is doing well. Very well collected episode. 

Osomatsu-san (ep 16)[G] WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?! Oh I love this show. The beginning was straight up one of the weirdest thing, and the second half was PURE gold. Oh how I love Ichimatsu (and Karamatsu). 

Shiraiyuki-hime 2nd Season (ep 3) – [G/N] Oh my god I love Prince Raji so much. I was listening and fangirled a little when he went full Koro-sensei. Also nice hook at the end there. I like what is going down. 

Saijaku Muhai no Bahamut (ep 3)[B] Really debating whether or not to drop this right now. This series is drowning in troupes and any potential has been long destroyed. 

Aokana (ep 3) [N] This series feels very anti-climactic. I’m still not sure what to think about it. It wasn’t a bad episode, but it wasn’t anything unexpected or new. Meh overall, series and episode. 


Well I hope you enjoyed my blog! I will link my [last week] and [next week] down here!

Author: delaneysloane

My name is Delaney and I am a student blogger from from Santa Clara University in California.

1 thought on “WINTER 2016 | Week 3 Roundup”

Leave a Reply

