FALL 2015 | First Impressions

Hey guys! Today is the start of my Fall Season! I have for you today my first impressions of each series premiere that I am checking out/watching. I am organizing it by date I watched them and I will grade (out of 10) the series and then rank the series after I watch all the premiers.



FINAL RANK

1 | K: Return of Kings

2 | Young Black Jack

3 | Noragami Aragoto

4 | Haikyuu!! Second Season

5 | One Punch Man

6 | Heavy Object

7 | Beautiful Bones

8 | Tantei Team

9 | Osomatsu-san

10 | High School Star Musical

11 | Comet Lucifer

12 | The Perfect Insider

13 | The Asterisk War

14 | Attack on Titan Junior High

15 | Testament of Sister New Devil Burst

16 | Seraph of the End Second Season

17 | Utawarerumono The False Faces

18 | Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan

19 | Dance with Devils

20 | Rainy Color e Yokuso!



10/13

Seraph of the End Second Season

premier score: 5

Well I didn’t really live the first season all that much and I am holding out hope that this one will be better. Also did Yuu’s personality do a 180 or something? I think they misinterpreted the manga and now he is like a totally different character. Either way, I am expecting things to pick up a little bit this season.

Dance with Devils

premier score: 4

Just as I suspected… this anime is basically trash. The main girl is bland and the guys are pretty typical. I don’t really understand the random outbursts of song but whatever. I hear that this one is really similar to Diabolical Lovers… I a going to take that word and avoid Diabolical Lovers.


10/9

Young Black Jack

premier score: 9

*Keeping in mind that I have not watched/read anything of the Black Jack series prior to this* I really liked the episode and I think it set a really complete stage for the season. I can see myself getting into this series like a lot. I like all the characters so far and I’m excited for what’s to come.

Testament of Sister New Devil Burst

premier score: 6

This anime is trashy and yet I still enjoy it for aspects of the underlying story. I have a feeling that this season with be a bit better than the last and that hopefully there is more development for more of the side characters as well. I like Basara and I think his harem is fine as is, but it seems to be expanding.

The Perfect Insider

premier score: 7

Okay maybe I just hyped this one too much but it was really a let down for me. I don’t care for the cast other than the short haired girl very much. At this point the score stands because the opening (art and sound) are by far my favorite of the season. Other than the great soundtrack, this one is kind of bland.

Tantei Team

premier score: 8

Considering the length of the episode, this premier was fantastic. The characters are very cute and I actually enjoy the main girl. I think that it will be a pretty good anime over the season. I am hoping that there will be more than one case  for the season because if not the bike theft thing will get really old.


10/7

Beautiful Bones

premier score: 8

Hay this is actually a really interesting anime premise. The main girl reminds me a bit of Kobayashi from Ranpo Kitan. The guy I don’t currently care too much for, but his monologue is kinda nice. I think this is going to be one of the more interesting animes this season and I am excited to see how it turns out.


10/6

High School Star Musical

premier score: 7

This is probably of bad taste, but I like it anyway. I like it in the way where you know it’s pretty bad but it’s so good at the same time. I don’t really like the main guy but I like the elite group and the other four in the star group. I think this might be really funny and kinda awesome in the worst way.


10/5

Osomatsu-san

premier score: 7

Hey… this is probably the most hilarious anime so far this season. The episode actually told a nice story about how the current anime came to be off of the really old cartoon. This show is obviously a gag show and I actually think it has a similar feel to (funny) Gintama. I am holding high hope for this anime to get even funnier with time.

Rainy Color e Yokuso!

premier score: 3

Wow this season looks like it is going to be as trashy as the first one lol. I’m really hoping for some development over the season because last time it felt like nothing happened due to the super short episodes and time skips (?). I’ll stick with it but really only because it is a short, if it was longer I wouldn’t hesitate to drop it.


10/4

Heavy Object

premier score: 8

I actually really enjoyed this. I’m really not into mecha but I enjoy the main characters quite a lot at the moment. Especially Quenser, he is fundamentally interesting to me and I love his narrative in the beginning (and I hope he will continue to narrate because his voice is so calming lol). I think the anime will take an interesting turn.

K: Return of Kings

premier score: 9

I eat my own words about Noragami having the best premier. I’ll start by saying that K is a truly gorgeous anime. It has the most amazing animation (cinematography) I’ve ever seen. I also loved the structure of the episode, as it started with a flashback and ended right where the movie (Missing Kings) left off. I am probably most excited for this anime so far.

Yousei Onsen Hakone-chan

premier score: 5

Surprise! It’s a short. Well that is kinda disappointing, but I’m sure the series will be plenty cute. I don’t really like any of the characters but the premise is interesting enough for me to allow myself to watch it. I am not expecting too much of a plot or character development.

Utawarerumono The False Faces

premier score: 5

Meh. It’s cute and I’m really hoping that there will be more development than Haku regaining his memories. Kuon the peeping cat girl is cute. Nothing really happened this episode other than them hiking and Haku failing at most every job. I am holding out based on the interaction between Haku and Kuon is quite enjoyable. (UPDATE: I have put this on hold to go back and watch the first season because I was recommended to do so)

Comet Lucifer

premier score: 7

I’m actually pretty excited for this one, but I don’t think that the premier did it too much justice. I’m still confused about what is happening (fairies and mecha?) but I think it will turn out to be a pretty good anime. The main guy and the side girl are interesting and I like the art style.


10/03

Noragami Aragoto

premier score: 9

I am so excited for the return of Noragami! I can’t lie: this has been my favorite premier so far. The series picked up right where it left off and I had my eyes glued to the screen the whole time. I also love how the episode ended with tons of suspense. I think this might be one of the great winners this season.

Attack on Titan Junior High

premiere score: 6

HAHA this is actually so funny. It’s so fricking ridiculous, but I honestly find it funny. It’s more like a parody of the main series than a true spin off at this point. I like it because it is one of those animes that knows it has no plot and instead focuses on humor.

Haikyuu!! Second Season

premiere score: 8

YESSSSS I know you all have read my sports anime love blog so you know how excited I was for this. Honestly I liked he premier but it was way fast paced. It felt like there were just so many things that happen this episode and I forgot what Hinata and everyone’s voices so I was so lost for like half the episode. I know that this will be one of the best animes of the season and the premier was no where near to accurately representing the greatness of the show.

The Asterisk War

premiere score: 6

This is probably my typical harem with a boring and overpowered main guy and a colorful haired and somewhat1 fussy main girl. It’s actually not all that bad, and I actually really dig the animation so I think I’ll stick with it. I hope that the series will not follow the typical formula.

One Punch Man

premiere score: 8

This has been hyped since like the beginning of the Summer season, and rightfully so. Madhouse pulls through after the somewhat disappointing Overlord last season. I love the animation and my only real critique is that the  premier was a little spastic. I read a few chapters and I can’t wait for the series to pick up!



Thank you for reading 🙂 I hope you enjoyed my blog and I can’t wait to see more of this season!

Author: delaneysloane

My name is Delaney and I am a student blogger from from Santa Clara University in California.

Leave a Reply

